FREE P&P on all orders over £25 (always free click & collect at markets)

Gluten free diets

Did you know...

Current advice from Coeliac UK is that:
Barley malt vinegar is produced from barley, however the processing involved removes barley protein and therefore removes the gluten from the final product. This makes it suitable for people with coeliac disease.

These products will still have to be labelled as containing barley in the ingredients list.

Barley malt vinegar is made from barley and is found in pickles, chutneys and some sauces. If it is used in a food product the manufacturer must list the word ‘barley' in the ingredients list in line with European Union wide allergen labelling law.

Barley malt vinegar is made using a fermentation process. This means that the amount of barley, and therefore gluten, in the end product is extremely small and is well below a level which is safe for people with coeliac disease. In addition, barley malt vinegar is usually only eaten in small amounts, for example, drained pickled vegetables, sauces with a meal or on chips.

Balsamic, cider, sherry, spirit, white wine and red wine vinegar are not made from barley and can also be included in your gluten-free diet.